Skip to main content

Some simple but most important terms: Brain, Mind, Consciousness, Awareness, Mindfulness, and Enlightenment

The following are the simple but most important terms on the path of spirituality. It is better to understand them as early as possible. These are the terms: Brain, Mind, Consciousness, Awareness, Mindfulness, and Enlightenment.

Brain: Unconditioned Mind. 

Mind: Conditioned Brain. 

Consciousness: Experience of the freedom from the conditioning of the mind. 

Subconsciousness: It’s a storage point for any recent memories needed for a quick recall. It serves as the random access memory (RAM) of the mind. It’s more mechanical in nature. Once the conscious mind trains an activity the subconscious mind takes charge of that activity automatically and mechanically. 

Unconsciousness: It’s that part of the mind where all of our memories and past experiences reside. These are those memories that have been repressed through trauma and other experiences. These have simply been consciously forgotten and are no longer important to us for the present. And it’s from these memories and experiences that our beliefs, habits, and behaviors are formed. 

Spirituality: It’s a process to know yourself. It’s a process to experience yourself. 

Mindfulness: It’s a method to observe the activities of all the above types of minds - conscious, subconscious, and unconscious. And mindfulness frees us from the conditioning of the mind. 

Enlightenment: Awareness of the experience of the freedom from the conditioning of the mind.

Brain is physical, mind is psychological, and consciousness is spiritual. Consciousness is of the present, unconsciousness is of the past, and supreme consciousness is of the eternal. It is unborn and deathless.
Mandukya Upanishad talks about the four states of consciousness: waking consciousness, dreaming consciousness, dreamless consciousness, and the awakened consciousness. The fourth consciousness is simply called the fourth or the Turiya. It is the purest form of the consciousness. And it is the formless. And now it is free of all impurities, all identifications and all conditioning. It is that Supreme Consciousness. So, enlightenment is the awareness of this supreme consciousness. All spirituality is the domain of the Enlightened Consciousness.


Popular posts from this blog

Glass, Half Full or Half Empty

The reality exists and we all perceive the reality. What is true reality? Nobody can give the exact answer. Each person has his own reality. And, therefore, each person has his own expression. The reality is one but the perceptions could be many. The reality is one but the expressions could be many. Every one perceives reality in his own way. Every observer observes reality is his own way. Every perception is relative to the one who is perceiving. Every observation is relative to the observer. The one who is perceiving and the perception are not two different things. The observer and the observed are not two different things.

Is the glass half full or half empty? This is a common phrase that we use to know an individual’s worldview. This is a common phrase that we use to know an individual’s point of view. In the above situation, every individual’s worldview could be different. One may argue and say that the glass is half full and this expression may indicate optimism. And another ma…

And when the son meets the father !!

We all know the story of the Buddha that he went in search of knowing himself. He went in search of enlightenment. And in the process he left everything behind - his own family, his father, and his kingdom. In the past there was this tradition of renunciation. One has to give-up everything in order to attain to enlightenment. One has to give-up oneself in order to become a Siddha. Siddhartha was a prince. He was the son of a king Śuddhodana. Siddhartha had all the comforts and luxuries that one can imagine. And since childhood he has seen only one-side of life, the life of all comforts and luxuries. And he had no idea about the other side of the life of poverty and deprivation. And when he had grown-up, the side which was absent and suppressed started attracting him in the form of renunciation. This is a common psychology of life that a thing which has been absent in life, shall soon start dominating its presence. The one that we suppress will try to surface with a greater force. If …

The Mahabharata : In a Nutshell !!

There are three great characters in the Mahabharata. All the other characters are just by-products of these three characters. Duryodhana, Arjuna, and Krishna are these three main and great characters. To me, Duryodhana represents the Unconscious. He is a metaphor for the Unconscious. Arjuna represents the Conscious. He is a metaphor for the Conscious. And Krishna represents the Supreme Conscious. He is a metaphor for the Supreme Conscious. He is representing the Supreme Consciousness. When the ray of the Supreme Consciousness passes through the prism of the mind, the prism of the mind manifests the Supreme Consciousness into the Consciousness and the Unconsciousness.

To make things simple, let us understand this by way of an example. Let us suppose that the Unconsciousness is like darkness and the Consciousness is like the light. And the one that joins these two and still remains beyond is called the Supreme Consciousness. According to the psychologists the Unconsciousness is far far …